Home > Uncategorized > livestock arena

livestock arena

November 22, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s been a couple of months since the state fair ended. Yet as I approached the arena where they show horses and cattle…the sort of livestock that’s been central to the fair since it began…I could still detect that livestock smell.

It’s not a bad smell. I’m not sure what individual smells comprise it. Hay and sawdust, certainly, and the animal scent of large mammals. Maybe some sort of feed. I don’t know, but it’s distinctive…and even though I hadn’t been to a Midwestern state fair in years, it was immediately clear to me what I was smelling.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 3, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    That photo is delicious refreshment, like an orange.

  2. December 3, 2009 at 4:37 pm

    Wait, not this one. The one above. Oy. This one’s good, but it’s not an orange.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

